Hello! I'm in search of advice

I recently bought an intel D435i for a project of mine. I want to use this, a DSLR and open 3D as basis for creating scenes which I then hope to augment using differentiable rendering.

Right now I am experimenting with the python code examples (I am new to coding in general). I have a vision for a pipeline which I want to share with you.

Right now streaming options for me contain too much data! At present I think the only data I need stream continuously is the IMU odometry.

So the idea is that i have a script for capturing single depth and colour frames from the D435i and DSLR (which should be aligned) and use the odometry from the IMU to ‘estimate’ the position for these frames. From this, I would hope registration would be pretty easy and very fast!

I’m guessing that what i describe are basics for most SLAM applications, but I am not interesting in it being real time. I am interested in accurate scenes with very little noise.

Ps. any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Usually, IMU odometry is very unreliable due to accumulated noise, especially for cheap sensors on D435i.

Recommended ways are RGB-D odometry (i.e. aligning RGB-D images) or visual-inertial odometry (i.e. combining both image and IMU data). However, estimated poses for frames will still drift (again, due to accumulated noise, but at a smaller magnitude). Therefore we need some global constraints to correct the error. Typically, if you visit a place again after a time interval (we call it loop closure), you will expect a similar frame pose to the previous frame. This intuitive constraint will help reduce drift by forcing these frames to align.